Looking for advice — Considering selling my personal term base
Thread poster: Bree Salmon
Bree Salmon
Bree Salmon  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 17:11
Japanese to English
Oct 21, 2023

I have a general Japanese/English term base that I have been adding to for more than 12 years. As any professional trader knows, using translation software and a good term base can save huge amounts of time translating. The term base can be converted to any format and has nearly 45,000 entries, many of which are slang or terms that otherwise do not show up in online dictionary searches from sites like Weblio, ALC, or Linguee. Many entries have multiple English terms for each Japanese entry and p... See more
I have a general Japanese/English term base that I have been adding to for more than 12 years. As any professional trader knows, using translation software and a good term base can save huge amounts of time translating. The term base can be converted to any format and has nearly 45,000 entries, many of which are slang or terms that otherwise do not show up in online dictionary searches from sites like Weblio, ALC, or Linguee. Many entries have multiple English terms for each Japanese entry and provide context.

I am just looking to get some feedback on the viability of making this term base available for sale through some kind of marketplace or a personal website. Some of the things I'm wondering about are:

-Is this the right ProZ subforum to post this?
-Would a term base be something that many professional traders would want?
-What formats should I offer?
-How much should I charge?
-Where should I sell it?
-Should I offer a return policy?

I would love to hear from you all, so spare no opinions!

[Edited at 2023-10-21 20:38 GMT]

[Edited at 2023-10-21 20:38 GMT]
Collapse

Jeff Whittaker
Jeff Whittaker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:11
Spanish to English
+ ...
Book of Japanese Slang Oct 21, 2023