Off topic: Are Translators Normal?
Thread poster: Raf Uzar
Raf Uzar
Raf Uzar
Poland
Local time: 00:31
Polish to English
Feb 2, 2010

In the past I have noticed that when I've mentioned that I'm a translator and that I work from home I get a strange look from my interlocutor. This still happens today and I'm pretty sure it will continue to happen in the future. People seem to think translators are strange, that freelance translation work is not 'normal'. A post on http://transubstantiation.wordpress.com/ kind of backed up my id... See more
In the past I have noticed that when I've mentioned that I'm a translator and that I work from home I get a strange look from my interlocutor. This still happens today and I'm pretty sure it will continue to happen in the future. People seem to think translators are strange, that freelance translation work is not 'normal'. A post on http://transubstantiation.wordpress.com/ kind of backed up my ideas. The question begs, are we - translators - normal?Collapse

Silvia Barra (X)
Silvia Barra (X)  Identity Verified
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
Or a housewife Feb 2, 2010

Since I'm a female, many people says me "Ah you're a translator, so you're a housewife"...
In Italy this happens...

Silvia

oxygen4u
oxygen4u
Portugal
Local time: 23:31
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Same in Portugal... Feb 2, 2010

Silvia, the same happens in Portugal. If you're at home you're either a housewife or you are simply unemployed but refuse to say so...

Even my youngest son (5 years old) seems to think all I do is sit in front of the computer and play...

We are truly misunderstood and we actually work harder than most people who do not work from home...

Raf Uzar
Raf Uzar
Poland
Polish to English
TOPIC STARTER
At home doing nothing Feb 2, 2010

So true. That's what most people seem to think.
What can we do about it?
Original article: http://transubstantiation.wordpress.com/

Anne Carnot
Anne Carnot  Identity Verified
France
Member (2009)
English to French